Penumbral Lunar Eclipse of the Year Will Be Visible On July 5

Penumbral Lunar Eclipse

Penumbral Lunar Eclipse

After the Solar Eclipse in June, a penumbral lunar eclipse of the year will be visible this Sunday. The lunar event will occur on the Full Moon night of July 5 and as penumbral lunar eclipses go, it will be difficult to notice any change as the Moon will appear slightly fainter than usual.

The Penumbral Lunar Eclipse on July 5 would not be visible in India. According to the Time and Date, the lunar eclipse will be visible from the parts of North America, South America and Africa. The eclipse will start at 03:07 AM UTC (08:37 AM IST), reach a maximum at 04:29 UTC (09:59 AM IST), and then end at 05:52 AM UTC (11:22 AM IST). So, as the Moon is below the horizon during this eclipse, it won’t be visible in India.

However, this lunar eclipse event will be the third penumbral lunar eclipse of this year following the first on January 10, The Wolf Moon Eclipse and the second on June 5, and another penumbral lunar eclipse will occur on November 29, 2020.

Besides, during a penumbral lunar eclipse, the Earth, the Sun and the Moon are in an imperfect alignment. The Earth only partially blocks the Sun’s light from reaching the moon with the penumbra — the outer portion of its shadow. The penumbra being fainter than the umbra — the central and the darkest portion of Earth’s shadow, makes the eclipse seem like a normal Full Moon, just a little fainter. However, the penumbral lunar eclipse is different from a total lunar eclipse. During a total lunar eclipse, the Earth, the Sun and the Moon are in perfect alignment which causes the umbra to completely cover the Moon.

Meanwhile, just as the penumbral lunar eclipse occurred last month on the Strawberry Moon, this month’s Full Moon is known as the BUCK MOON. The name, Buck Moon, is a part of the nomenclature of Full Moons that was used by Native Americans.

According to the Old Farmer’s Almanac, Buck Moon is the Algonquin tribe name given to the Full Moon in July because a buck’s antlers are in full growth mode at during this time in the North American region. It is also known as the Thunder Moon because of the frequent thunderstorms in the region during this month.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *